CLPHA Executive Director Nominated for Green Award

Dear Sunia,

I am the editor in chief of EcoHome magazine, and program director for The Hanley Award for Vision and Leadership in Sustainable Housing. I’m writing to inform you that you’ve been selected by our 2010 Nominating Committee as one of 12 distinguished industry leaders being considered to receive the 2010 Hanley Award.

And I want to congratulate you and to share information about the program, and where we are in the selection process.   The Hanley Award is sponsored by The Hanley Foundation, Hanley Wood Business Media and EcoHome magazine in collaboration with the U.S. Green Building Council.

The 2010 Award and its $50,000 grant will be presented at the USGBC Hanley Award Dinner on November 17th, during the 2010 Greenbuild International Conference and Expo in Chicago. Should you be selected as this year’s recipient, the program requires your attendance to receive The Hanley Award. Last year we presented the first annual Award to Edward Mazria of Architecture 2030.

Official nominations for the award were submitted by a select committee of national industry leaders which this year included Phil Crone, Green Built Texas; Jean Dimeo,; Michelle Kaufmann, AIA; Don Carr, NAHB Research Center; and Gail Vittori, Center for Maximum Potential Building Systems.  Eligible nominees are residential construction industry professionals, or those working in technical research, product development, educational outreach, environmental advocacy, governmental policy, and related areas, who have made deep, long-standing, and influential commitments to sustainability, and significant and lasting contributions to the widespread implementation of environmental building concepts, techniques, and innovations in advancing sustainable housing in the United States.


On June 16th a distinguished panel of judges will meet in our Washington, DC offices to review and evaluate this year’s slate of candidates and select the award recipient. We will announce the results of the judging as soon afterwards as possible. The 2010 Hanley Award judges include Michael J. Hanley, co-founder and retired CEO of Hanley Wood and president of The Hanley Foundation; Frank Anton, longtime industry thought-leader and CEO of Hanley Wood; Joyce Mason, VP of Marketing for Pardee Homes in California, a green building leader in themselves; Nate Kredich, VP of Residential Market Development for the USGBC; and last year’s recipient Edward Mazria, founder of Architecture 2030. I have included a full list of the nominees below, and have attached last year’s feature article about the program and our first recipient.





David Baker, FAIA, LEED AP


David Baker + Partners, Architects

San Francisco, CA


Dennis Creech, Executive Director

Southface Energy Institute

Atlanta, GA


David Gottfried, Founder USGBC

Regenerative Ventures, WorldBuild Consulting

Berkeley, CA


Robert Hammon PhD., Principal


Stockton, CA


Mark LaLiberte, President

Denver, CO



Make It Right Foundation

New Orleans, LA


William McDonough,  Principal

William McDonough + Partners

Charlottesville, VA


Chris Miles, Principal

GreenCraft Builders LLC

Lewisville, TX



Peter Pfeiffer, FAIA, Principal

Barley & Pfeiffer Architects

Austin, TX


Alex Wilson, Founder, Executive Editor

BuildingGreen LLC

Brattleboro, VT



Steven Winter, FAIA, President

Steven Winter Associates

Norwalk, CT


Sunia Zaterman, Executive Director

Council of Large Public Housing Authorities

Washington, DC





Rick Schwolsky

Editor In Chief

Hanley Wood Magazines

2409 Waneka Lake Trail

Lafayette, Colorado 80026

Office 303.473.9640

Cell  202.256.5843

Fax  303.444.2686